Yarn + Bead = Earrings

I found my inspiration for my next crafty/fashiony/diy project here.

yarn-earrings-pinnable

Not only did this look incredibly doable, they also looked legimately cute.  I picked up some heart-shaped pony beads thinking the shape may be a cute twist.  After fumbling around with hot glue and yarn lint on a small bead, I discovered it ended up in a ball shape any way.  I glued on the posts and tried them on.

IMG_1011

Cute to look at, but HUGE.  I didn’t get a pic, but I remember it looking something like this.

1939767569_paris_hilton_giant_earrings_xlarge

Even without the lights and dangle, I felt like my head was one giant ball of yarn.

Not wanting to make yet another trip across the street to JoAnn with a toddler, I decided to hit up my repurposing pile.  I found the perfect bracelet with much better “pony” beads and quickly disassembled.

IMG_1012

Oh snap!

 

I followed the same procedure as above – wrap, “dot” the hot glue and singe the ish out of my fingers, wrap some more, glue and burn, and wrap to satisfaction.  My less-than-happy fingers were covered in glue and yarn DNA, but I succeeded with a more petite version of my product.

IMG_1013

Now for the drum roll…

IMG_1031

 

How do they look?  I felt like they were still too big, but I guess I’m used to smaller, basic studs.  I didn’t have to love them, but I wanted to at least like them because they looked so darn cute sans ears.

I wore them that same day to meet one of my little tutoring clients.  One of the first things this sweet little first grader said was “I LOVE your earrings!”  When she found out I made them, it was like I was a magical fairy.  She was so intrigued and had to get closer and touch them.  It definitely brought my uncertainty to a solid “like.”

I have worn them several more times, but have yet to feel the love.  Maybe they just aren’t my style or maybe it’s my hair (post about that coming soon).

Either way, I’m happy I took on this mini-project.  Maybe I will try again with super fine yarn…and tweezers.  I need to give my fingers a chance to regrow their prints.

IMG_1007

 

 

Leave a Reply

