Sweater weather

Love me some background music for today’s sweater repurposing session – a session that did not have a distinct plan (which I can tell may be my favorite).

I also purchased this sweater from Victoria’s Secret (you will see this pattern) in cream and black.  I figured they would be perfect for leggings since they are long and easy to accessorize with their neutral color.

IMG_0806

It’s functionality was deceiving.  While it’s cute overall, it’s anything but comfortable.  It’s clingy, itchy, and not very versatile.  I tried to expand its use with jeans, but it just looked lumpy and unflattering.  The foldover, cowl neck made it look awkward with a scarf.   It was left purposeless…

I started by making the same cuts as the previous sweater and decided to try out some of these ideas that I found on Pinterest.

I sewed over the raw ends of the arms and made the little stitch for my thumb to create arm warmers.  I also sewed over the raw edge of the body of the sweater to initially make a skirt.  It ended up being way too big and stretchy after it was cut-off from the rest of its friends, so I decided to use it as an infinity scarf instead.

IMG_0816 IMG_0809 IMG_0814

Love.  Them.

These new pieces came just in time for the rush of wintry weather.

‘Cause it’s too coooooooold for me here and now.  But I can hoooooold both my hands in new holes of my sweater.*

*I have a slight obsession in creating my own lyrics to songs.  Be prepared to see this often.

Leave a Reply

