Unplanned stop

Before I started this blog, I whipped out my dusty sewing machine and decided to play around a bit. We had a lot of catching up to do.  I knew I wanted to focus on highlighting what I already had in my wardrobe, so my first instinct was to create a new accessory.  While I love a good scarf, a belt is an item that I find myself reaching for, yet never having.  Here is the tutorial I used as my guide:

194dbd2a265f3493e30673368f229d98

I conveniently (and dangerously) live across the street from a Joann Fabric.  I happened to find a fabric that is the bomb-dot-com when it comes to pattern and color scheme.  I knew my feelings for the fabric were legit when I refused to give up on a line that was at least 8 people deep (with carts filled to the brim for Halloween costume making) with a 2 year-old ready to burst at the seams.

IMG_0729

I couldn’t find a belt buckle wide enough to work, so I created my own out of cardboard and covered it with a roll of embellishment using a hot glue gun.  It ended up looking even better than I had expected but, while aesthetically pleasing, I discovered it was too flimsy to hold the belt tightly.  To remedy the situation, I hand-sewed a snap to keep it in place.

Here is the finished product:

IMG_0519 IMG_0738

Not the greatest of fits (it gaps out a little in the back), but it is doable with additional coverage.  I will definitely work with this concept more and plan to try coffee can lids as the next belt buckle foundation.  A fabric with more stretch would be great for this project. Maybe one of my repurpose-ready, long-sleeved tees?

Leave a Reply

