Our story

Before starting any new venture it is crucial to reflect on where you have been that got you to the place where you are now. I don’t know if I ever really had a defined style for the majority of my life. I took a Fashion & Clothing class in high school, loved it, and went on to an independent study.  As college approached, I considered Fashion Merchandising as a major, but opted for Elementary Education instead. Fashion wasn’t really in the forefront of my mind as I meandered my way through college in tshirts, jeans, and partying essentials from Deb Shop.

Adulthood soon enveloped me and I traded in my pleather pants for kahkis and my puffy coats for cardigans as I began my first few years of teaching. A major life change occurred for me at 25 and, along with it, a newly budding relationship with my inner and outer definition. I ditched my teacher-y duds for heels and trendier career pants. I flirted a bit with accessories, color blocking, and unique pairings. One day at work I happened to have on a particularly against-the-teacher-grain outfit and a parent called me the “Sarah Jessica Parker” of the school. While I wouldn’t attempt most of SJP’s fashion choices, I have to admit…I kind of liked it.

Marriage and a baby later, my style interest began to shift into minimalism and functionality. I wanted higher fashion without clutter and looking like I was trying too hard. I absolutely loved Lauren Conrad and used her Style book as a guide. Shortly thereafter, the “Great Purge” began and I said good-bye to 90% of my wardrobe.

I decided to leave teaching this past June after nearly 10 good years to be a stay-at-home-mama to my two-year-old daughter and focus on entrepreneurial endeavors. I started a tutoring business to help supplement our family income which has been a beautiful thing, but I realized something was missing in my life (along with my closet). Enthusiasm. There was a brief period years ago where I kept a personal blog.  I remember losing myself in writing and thinking about it all day and racing home to work on a new post.  That feeling did wonders for my soul.  I almost forgot that feeling between my career, family, and mommyhood.  I have been telling my sister for years that she should go into fashion.  I talked up how much fun it sounded and how I had thought about it at one point.  And then I thought, why not me?  Why not now?  I may not be 22, but 32 isn’t exactly ancient (unless you are asking a 5 year old…even though most often they thought I was 17…which was a major bonus to my profession).

My wardrobe reflects how I have been feeling about myself – just okay and slightly boring at times. I’m a true advocate for finding happiness and beauty in who you are and what you have, so that’s what I’m doing for my wardrobe and for me. It is the perfect platform to help me resurface an old passion while exploring new interests.  I’m ready.

Leave a Reply

