I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are

So I don’t rock mom jeans or cat earrings, but I will extrapolate my feelings when it comes to my current fashion situation.  This wardrobe/style therapy session begins with owning where we’re at so we can start the rebuilding process.  I went through and pulled out everything I have to work with (minus a small pile of summer-specific items and workout clothes).  I sorted them first by items that I intend to leave “as is”  and items that I either want to repurpose or remove completely.  My “as is” items were then sorted by clothing category.

Here’s my whole wardrobe (fit into two baskets):

IMG_0607

Repurpose/remove on the left and “as is” on the right

My guidelines for an item to be “as is” had to meet most of the following criteria:

  • good condition
  • classic pieces
  • easy to mix-and-match/accessorize
  • frequent wear/loved items

Here is what I decided…

Camis, tunic tanks, and crop tanks in neutral colors

Camis, tunic tanks, and crop tanks in neutral colors

Blouses with 3/4 sleeves (the black one in the middle has a collar the others have are v-neck)

Blouses with 3/4 sleeves (the black one in the middle has a collar and the others are v-neck)

My favorite knit sweater to wear over a cami and pair with leggings

My constantly-worn knit sweater 

Short black blazer that I wear alllllll the time

Short black blazer that I wear alllllll the time

longer black blazer that I never wear but want to work with

Longer black blazer that I never wear but want to work with (and it’s practically brand new)

My one-and-only denim jacket (a "love" item)

My one-and-only denim jacket (a “love” item)

Chunky knit boyfriend

Chunky knit boyfriend cardigan (not loved just yet, but versatile)

Long, crocheted cardigan (love, love love)

Long, crocheted cardigan (very loved)

Hooded, puffy vest (had it for years)

Hooded, puffy vest (had it for years)

My denim collection (one cropped pair and the rest are regular skinny jeans)

My denim collection (one cropped pair and the rest are regular skinny jeans)

Leggings - two regular black (wear constantly) and one grey sweater material

Leggings – two pair are black (that I wear constantly) and one with grey sweater material

Black pencil skirt and black mini

Black pencil skirt and black mini skirt (which I never wear, so it may have to go)

Maxi dress (super cute, but incredibly long)

Maxi dress (super cute, but incredibly long)

Peplum top (pair only with my pencil skirt)

Peplum top (I pair it only with my pencil skirt but I love it)

My guidelines for repurpose or remove were:

  • fair to rough condition or fading
  • rarely worn
  • limited versatility
  • awkward fit
  • just so over

Here is what I ended up with:

Plethora of layering camis

Plethora of layering camis

Other tanks

…and other tanks

Random tops

Random tops

Long sleeved tees

Long sleeved tees

Love these blouses, but I have had them for years and they no longer serve a purpose as the are

Love these blouses, but I have had them for years and they no longer serve a purpose “as is”

IMG_0587

Not a fan of the sleeveless or the design on the tee and my NYC shirt unfortunately has some holes

I bought these basic sweaters last year, but don't find them particularly exciting

I bought these basic sweaters last year, but don’t find them particularly exciting

These chunky cowl neck sweaters are super thick and itchy

These chunky cowl neck sweaters are super thick and itchy

Long sleeve sweater and sweatshirt

Long sleeve, v-neck sweater and sweatshirt

IMG_0599

Boyfriend and sheer black cardigans showing wear

Fold over skirts

Maxi and fold over skirts

Maxi dresses

Maxi dresses

Old yoga pants

Old yoga pants

Fading leggings and one terrible pair of jeggings

Fading leggings and one terrible pair of jeggings

A single pair of capri "work" dress pants

A single pair of capri “work” dress pants

 

Here are my on-the-fence items:

I like both of these tops, but can't seem to find purpose for them in my current wardrobe.

I like both of these tops but can’t seem to find purpose for them in my current wardrobe.

Wool cardigan that's itchy, slightly pilling, not a very versatile color, but I love the length and how it has almost coat-like qualities

Wool cardigan that’s itchy, slightly pilling, and not a very versatile color, but I love the length and how it can double as a coat

 

Just for fun, here are the accessories I am working with right now:

My scarf collection

My scarf collection

Belts (which I rarely wear)

Belts 

The only jewelry I wear (minus my earring studs)

The only jewelry I wear (minus my basic stud earrings)

So there it is – wardrobe transparency.  Now that there are no more secrets, up next is Step 3:  Drafting a Plan.

One thought on “I don’t care if the world knows what my secrets are

Leave a Reply

